Skip to content

Comparison

Datanem and Docsumo, compared

Docsumo's free trial is generous. As published on 8 September 2026 it offers up to 1,000 pages and ten user licences across fourteen days, which is more than enough to test it properly on real work.

What it does not offer is a price. Every paid tier on Docsumo's pricing page is a button marked talk to us. If you want to know what this will cost you next year, you have to book a call and ask. That is a normal way to sell software and plenty of good companies do it. It is also the single clearest difference between these two products.

No account needed for the first one. 20 documents free when you sign up, then 10 a month at no cost, for as long as you want it.

Side by side

Datanem compared with Docsumo
FeatureDatanemDocsumo
Price of the entry paid plan£9 a month, publishedNot published. Talk to us
Any paid price publishedAll four plansNone
Buy without a sales callYesTrial yes, paid plans no
Free offer20 documents, then 10 a month, permanently14-day trial, up to 1,000 pages
Users on the free offer110 licences
Export formatsExcel, CSV, SQLExcel, JSON, webhooks and APIs
SQL export with keys and schemaYesNot advertised
SOC 2 and HIPAANoStated
Classification and workflow featuresNoYes, on paid tiers
Where data is storedEUNot stated. GDPR compliance claimed

Docsumo figures were read from their own pricing page on 8 September 2026. Prices and limits change, and theirs are theirs to change without telling us, so check before you decide. If you find something here that is out of date, tell us at hello@datanem.com and we will correct it.

When Docsumo is the better choice

You want to evaluate hard and fast. A 14-day trial with up to 1,000 pages and ten user licences is a lot of runway for a proof of concept. Datanem's free plan is 10 documents a month, which is a slower way to reach the same confidence.

You need SOC 2 or HIPAA. Docsumo states adherence to GDPR, SOC 2 and HIPAA. Datanem holds none of these certifications.

You want several people evaluating at once. Docsumo's free trial lists ten user licences. Datanem's free plan is a single user, and team seats start at two on the £9 Starter plan.

You want more than extraction. Docsumo publishes auto-classification and splitting, master data lookup, cross-document validation, case management and custom document pipelines. Datanem extracts and exports, and stops there.

You would rather have an account manager than a pricing page. Docsumo's model includes a dedicated account manager on its Business tier. If you prefer buying software through a person, that is a real preference and Docsumo serves it better.

When Datanem is the better choice

You want to know the price. Datanem publishes all four plans: free, £9, £29 and £79 a month, with pay as you go at 20p a document. Docsumo publishes no price for any paid plan.

You want to buy without talking to anyone. Datanem is self-serve from signup to payment. Docsumo's trial is self-serve but every paid plan requires a sales conversation.

You want a free plan rather than a trial. Docsumo's free offer is fourteen days. Datanem's free plan does not end.

You want SQL out. Docsumo publishes webhooks, APIs, Excel downloads and JSON output. Datanem adds a SQL export with primary keys, foreign keys and indexes.

You want a stated data location. Datanem stores files and extracted data in the EU. Docsumo states GDPR compliance but does not state where data is held, and those are not the same claim.

Questions

How much does Docsumo cost?
We do not know, and neither will you until you ask them. As published on 8 September 2026 every paid tier on their pricing page carries a talk to us button rather than a figure. That is why this comparison has no price row for them. Datanem's plans are £9, £29 and £79 a month, with a free plan under them.
Which has the better free offer?
They are different shapes and the right answer depends on what you are doing. Docsumo gives more in a shorter window: up to 1,000 pages and ten users over fourteen days, which is better for a hard evaluation. Datanem gives less per month but never stops, which is better if your volume is genuinely small.
Is Datanem missing anything Docsumo has?
Yes, several things. Docsumo publishes SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance, auto-classification and splitting, master data lookup, cross-document validation and case management. Datanem has none of those. It extracts documents into tables and exports them, and that is the whole product.
Why does Docsumo's pricing page look different when I visit?
Because they appear to be running a test with more than one version of the page. When we checked on 8 September 2026 the page contained two different sets of figures for the free trial. We have quoted the version that was showing. If what you see differs, trust their page over ours and please tell us at hello@datanem.com.

Other comparisons

Docsumo is a trade mark of its owner. Datanem is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to them, and this page is our own comparison.